30 Day Fitness Experiment

What can you do for your body in 30 days?

Putting the Science Back in "Experiment"

Day Three:

Is an experiment really an experiment without the Scientific Method? I think not. Okay, so… thinking back to the 4th grade… What are the steps?

1. Ask a question: What simple lifestyle changes can I make to improve my fitness level/ lose weight?

2. Gather information/do research: What was I doing when I was the fittest I’ve ever been? Well, I was physically active, working on my feet and/or physical labor, I drank lots of water, and I ate whole foods, not processed. sugary, pre-packaged or fast-foods.

3. Construct a hypothesis: I propose that if I switch back to eating whole foods/whole grains, drinking lots of water (at least 8 glasses/64 oz per day) and increasing my physical activity (walking 15 minutes per day), then I will see some (positive) changes in my body size and weight.

4. Collect data/Experiment to test the hypothesis: I have my beginning weight and basic measurements: 220 lbs, 45/40/48. I’m not going to test my BMI, heart rate, etc. at this point.

5. Analyze data and draw conclusions about the hypothesis: We’re not quite ready for that yet.

6. Reformulate the hypothesis and, just as important: communicate/publicize the results: In lieu of a huge piece of 3-fold display board, we are opting for a blog. How’s that for the digital age science fair?

Girl Chemist Experimenting

If you want a super-easy way to track your eating habits and caloric intake, just as a general “food diary” thing, try downloading the free “Lose It!” App for iPhone and iPod Touch. For me, it’s a great alternative to a hand-written food journal, since my iPod is always at my side, and the food lists are searchable. Type in “brown rice” and it will come up with a bunch of options, including brown rice cakes (I know, not my idea of yummy either), brown rice & vegetable bowl, etc. It’s also quite easy to set up, just enter your current weight + target weight, how much you want to lose per week, etc. Cool + easy + hard to lose in your handbag. (Unless you lose your iPhone of course.) I like it.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
March 25, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by landlockedsailr: The 30 Day Fitness Experiment, science fair style. http://su.pr/2aNQnw

    Trackback by uberVU - social comments | March 25, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

