30 Day Fitness Experiment

What can you do for your body in 30 days?

Listen to Your Body: 6 Ways I Know My Health Is Improving

power lifter
Image by greg westfall. via Flickr

It’s Day 28 already, and the pounds have stopped falling off of their own accord. Actually, I have eaten too much refined flour (white bread pita, bagel chips, etc.) in the last couple of days, so that might have something to do with it.

Wednesday will be the final weigh-in and measurements for this first 30 Day Experiment, but here are a couple of things I’ve noticed or accomplished.

I got rid of my “fat jeans!” I bought a couple of pairs of new, inexpensive jeans that really fit well, and got rid of the two pairs I’ve been wearing since last summer. They did hold their shape pretty well, but they had elastic waist bands that not only made me feel bad, they also didn’t provide any kind of signal that I was gaining weight. You know you’ve gained a couple of pounds when your jeans are feeling a little tight, but these had so much stretch I couldn’t even tell.

Walking to the grocery store (a couple of blocks away) doesn’t leave me out of breath! I can actually carry on a conversation with my husband all the way there and all the way back. We don’t speed walk, but we don’t stroll, either.

I went to the doctor the other day and my blood pressure was much closer to normal. There was no discussion about pre-hypertension, etc. Yay! (I also check it at home.)

My posture has improved noticeably, and backaches are few and far between.

My calves are changing shape (in a good way).

The number one joy of the moment: I didn’t expect this, but maybe I should have: My skin has cleared up quite a bit. I had stopped using a popular acne treatment because it dried out my skin so much, and I was almost ready to give up. But I have had no painful breakouts in the last three weeks. What a relief!

Share

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
April 19, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

