30 Day Fitness Experiment

What can you do for your body in 30 days?

Come Ride With Me, Girlfriend!

Description unavailable
Image by Iván Santiesteban via Flickr

Update: 18 June 2010 I’ve moved to California! No Girlfriend Ride for me this year. <sigh> But for all you ladies pedaling through Columbus Indiana tomorrow, I’m wishing you the best. Stay hydrated out there!

So remember how I got a bike? And how I just had to get it now before we move to California, so I can get comfortable riding again and not put it off too long? It’s that whole anxiety thing. The more something looms before me, the scarier it is. On the other hand, for some reason if I schedule something ahead of time and commit to working towards it, everything works out ok.

I doubt I will ever be a competitive cyclist. In fact I am almost sure of it.

But, just for kicks, I signed up for the “Girlfriend Ride” in Columbus, Indiana on Saturday, June 19th. It supports Turning Point Domestic Violence Services (shouldn’t it be Anti-Domestic Violence Services?), and it’s only $25 for early online registration (like, right now, at GirlfriendRide.org). The only problem for me is that it’s a girls-only thing, and I don’t do anything without my Mister. Also, my sister is on the other side of the world (I mean country), so I have NO ONE TO DO THIS WITH ME! Well, no one I know, anyway.

So I’m enlisting your help. Do you ride? Do you know some female who rides? Do you live within a 100 mile radius of Columbus, Indiana? No? Will you come anyway?

Also, if you or anyone you know is already planning on participating in the Girlfriend Ride, please comment below and let me know who you are!

Enhanced by Zemanta
May 5, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. One of my friends and I are riding in the girlfriend ride.

    Comment by Laura | May 19, 2010 | Reply

    • Cool! Did you do it last year, or is this your 1st one? I think I’m going to have a 30DayFitnessExperiment.com T-shirt made.

      Comment by Sarita Li | May 20, 2010 | Reply

  2. Hello!
    I will be riding with a good friend of mine. We rode last year as well…its a really great time! I’m so glad you are “joining us”. Feel free to email me and you can ride with us if you need to. We are NOT competitive riders at all. As a matter of fact, last year I overheated and pooped out. I WILL finish this year!!

    Comment by Collette | May 19, 2010 | Reply

    • Awesome! I’m totally not a competitive rider, either. I registered for the shortest distance (I think it’s 5k), but I’m going to see how far I can make it!

      Comment by Sarita Li | May 20, 2010 | Reply

  3. I started cycling last summer after years of NO physical activity, and overweight with other health problems. I’ll be 50 this year. I found a comfort bike that I love and got in over 1200 miles last summer. I think it’s the best exercise! Good luck to you!

    Comment by Donna | May 26, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

